EASIEST VEGAN MAC ‘N CHEESE YOU’LL EVER MAKE

Vegan? Love mac and cheese? Hate the recipes that contain endless ingredients you’ve never heard of? Hate how complicated some recipes can be? 

If you answered YES to all four questions above, this recipe is for you!

I have been vegan for a while, and I LOVE it. I can’t imagine any other way of living, and if you’re vegan too, I know you feel the same way. 

But sometimes, it can be so frustrating, looking up recipes only to see a million ingredients that I’ve never even heard of, let alone, know where to buy! Not to mention a hundred complicated steps that confuse me and leave me feeling hopeless. 

And let’s be honest, when I’m looking up a recipe, for something such as Mac n Cheese, it means I want it now! I want to find a recipe that only calls for ingredients I already have in my pantry, or are very easy to obtain. 

Today for example, all I craved was some cheesy pasta. And that’s the best thing about being vegan, right? The fact that you can eat a HUGE bowl of pasta and not feel a shred of guilt. 

So I scoured the internet looking for some simple recipes and, well, there aren’t too many out there. Because it’s not all about simplicity. If I throw some nutritional yeast flakes and a cup of almond milk over some cooked pasta, that’s all it’s gonna taste like… pasta with almond milk and nutritional yeast flakes. (I know because I found a recipe that was just that, and I tried it)

So, I decided to play around in the kitchen and make my own concoction! And it turned out DELICIOUS. Creamy, cheesy, flavorful, amazingness. 

Sound interested? Read on. The EASIEST, CREAMIEST, MOST DELICIOUS Mac n Cheese awaits you!

And the best part? You will already have all these ingredients in your pantry! No need to head out to the grocery store!

Ingredients
5 tablespoons of plain white flour 
Water
1 & a 1/2 cup pasta of your choice (I like large shells, but you can use Macaroni, Elbows, Penne, etc)
2 & a 1/2 Tablespoons of Vegan Butter (You can substitute with Olive Oil)
3 Tablespoons of Nutritional Yeast Flakes
2 Teaspoons of Garlic Powder (optional)
1/2 A Tablespoon of Turmeric (optional)

Method:  

Start by boiling 3 cups of water in a pot and add your pasta to cook.

Now, blend the nutritional yeast flakes and garlic powder in a blender. It will turn to a powder very quickly, it should only take two pulses. 

Heat a saucepan over medium heat and add in your vegan butter, if you are using butter, allow it to melt, if you are using olive oil, immediately move on to the next step.

After your vegan butter is melted, add your flour and stir. Keep stirring until it creates a thick, sticky paste. Then add about a tablespoon of water. I eyeball this step because this recipe is very forgiving, if you add to much water, it will still thicken back up, and if you don’t add enough, you can just add more. 

Keep stirring, adding more flour for thickness if you need it and more water to keep it a creamy texture if you need. (I was constantly adding small amounts of water throughout, and just keep stirring)

Once you have achieved a creamy sauce, add the Turmeric. Stir.
Add the powdered Nutritional Yeast Flakes and stir. Add more water, stir. It shouldn’t be too thick and tacky, it should be nice and creamy, so add water intuitively. 

Now your pasta should be done. Drain it in a colander and place it into a large bowl, I like to add a little more nutritional yeast flakes (unblended) to the top, just to give it some texture, about 1/2 a tablespoon. 

Top your pasta with the sauce and add salt to taste.

There you have it! A delicious, creamy, easy mac n ”cheese” that will satisfy anyone, not just vegans.

Thanks for reading! Let me know how you liked it in the comments below.

Xoxo FightingFitFeline

Leave a Reply

